Inspiration Station

Today’s daily devotional has me thinking about all the opportunities I have been given to be a blessing to others. Sometimes I have compelled to do something, but didn’t do it for fear of how the other person would react. God puts us in position to be a blessing to others, but we don’t because of our own issues. After you read the article please comment back with your thoughts and feelings.

Daily Devotional

Angel On The Run

By Julian Newman
This week’s topic: Renewing Your Mind

Have you ever had something to do, or somewhere to go and an unexpected interruption offered you an unusual choice? Many of us pray dangerous prayers and ask God to use our lives to change the world. With passionate cries and tears, we surrender ourselves to the will of God. Whatever He desires, we are anxious to do, whatever cost we are happy to pay. But what happens when the pathway to a miracle is inconvenient? How do we react when in a rush, on the phone, or otherwise pre-occupied?

What happens when we’re not in the mood? Malcolm Gladwell in his landmark book, ‘the Tipping Point’ tells the 1964 story of a New York woman named Kitty Genovese who was attacked 3 times and chased by an assailant (and later killed) while 38 people watched from their windows and heard her screams. But all 38 witnesses to this terrible crime stood back and did nothing.

Like the priest and the scribe who hurried by a bloodied Samaritan who lay in the street, 38 different people had the power to change history before it happened. Maybe they could have saved a life. Maybe not. But they didn’t even try.

Most of us are not presented with such dramatic and dangerous opportunities everyday. But you never know when a simple action could change a life, or at the very least change someone’s day for the good. Two days ago I got the chance.

It was Thursday and I was spending the day away from the office to study and collect my thoughts. Sunday was fast approaching and it had already been a full week.

Unaccounted for moments had become few and far between, so I was thankful for a few hours to pray, read, and relax. After reading from the book of Hebrews, I decided to get out the house and take a run. It’s amazing how often God brings new thoughts, new ideas, and new vision while on a jog.

15 minutes into the run, I saw an elderly woman walking feebly in front of me on the sidewalk. She wobbled as she walked and appeared dizzy. I didn’t want to startle her by running beside her on the sidewalk, so I bounded into the street and kept moving. I turned back to say “good morning” and to see if she was okay. As I did, she motioned her hand and waved me over.

“Do you know where the bus stop is? And how far is the credit union?”

After speaking with her, I discovered that she had been walking for a very long time. She was 83 years old, and she walked because she couldn’t drive anymore. So she decided to walk 5+ miles to the bank. She was exhausted and her breathing was labored. Traveling this far on her replaced hip was extremely painful and difficult. I stood there looking at this little old lady.

I wasn’t sure what to do. I didn’t have a car or phone. Though she didn’t look too heavy, I couldn’t put her on my back and carry her home. I didn’t have but fare was or where the nearest bus stop was. Besides all that, I had a run to finish. What should I do?

I could wish her the best, pray a quick prayer and take off. I thought about running to a telephone booth and calling for help. But I didn’t have money, and when is the last time you saw a phone booth anyway?

With mobile phones, payphones are more scarce that a reasonable gas price. Maybe I could knock on someone’s door and ask to use his or her phone. Then I imagine the awkward scene it would it create, standing on someone’s doorstep explaining this situation without sounding crazy, like a liar, or a home invader.

So I decided to run back to my office 10 minutes away and ask my Admin Assistant about giving this sweet little lady a ride. Before I took off, I told her my plan. The woman gave a surprised smile and asked, “Are you an angel?”

Running as fast as I could, I got to our offices and told Allison the whole story. We went to meet this woman who was standing by a fence waiting for us. Overjoyed and thankful, she tried to pay us for our trouble (we kindly refused).

While back on the run I thought of how many much we miss because we aren’t willing to set aside our agenda to partner with God to perform miracles? Who has God called us to reach, but we didn’t because we weren’t paying attention?

Scripture of the Day: “Love the Lord your God with all your heart and with all your soul and with all your strength and with all your mind’; and, ‘Love your neighbor as yourself.” – Luke 10:27 (NIV)

Leave a Reply

